Tags

, , ,

Some friends I made during my trip to Qingdao wanted to drop by for a visit this afternoon.  As I couldn’t go out to grab some tea bites, I decided to make do with whatever ingredients I have at home.

Thankfully, my refrigerator is always well-stocked. Tea treats were ready just before my guests arrived.  The menu – green bean soup with dried longans, prawn & anchovy fritters and juicy watermelons.

I learnt to make these delicious fritters from my good friend Li Kian who’s a great cook and baker.  These fritters are really finger-licking good and are so addictive, even I couldn’t stop eating while frying !

To make these, you will need :

Ingredients
(A)
Mix together until you get a thick consistency :
1 cup self-raising flour
1 cup plain flour
1 cup top flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp yeast
420ml water

(B)
100gm anchovies
100gm shelled & deveined prawns (cut into small pieces)
1 large onion (diced)
2 green chillies, seeded (chopped)
2 red chillies, seeded (chopped)
2 stalks of spring onions (chopped)
1 stalk cilantro (chopped)
1 tbsp ikan bilis powder (anchovy powder)
1/2 tsp sugar
1/2 tsp pepper
1/4 txp salt (or to taste)

Method
1) Put all the dry ingredients in (A) into a pot. Add just enough water to make a very thick batter.
2) Add all the ingredients in (B) into the batter and mix thoroughly. Leave it to rest for 10 mins.
3) Heat oil. Using a teaspoon, drop spoonfuls of batter into the hot oil and adjust heat accordingly.
4) Fry both sides of fritters until golden brown and thoroughly cooked inside.

– When the underside is brown, turn it over quickly and fry the other side until golden brown too. Adjust the heat accordingly so that the inside is thoroughy cooked while the outside is nicely brown and not burnt.

5) Serve with a sweet chilli sauce.

Golden Prawn & Anchovy Fritters served with sweet chilli sauce

