Tags

, , , , , ,

Yesterday was our nation’s 48th birthday and as always, we looked forward to witness the spectacular show that was being put up annually to celebrate this much looked forward occasion.

Seeing how our country have grown over the past years has made me very proud indeed to be a citizen of this small but outstanding cosmopolitan country. I’ve been privileged to travel to some interesting parts of this world but for me, nothing beats being home.

We have a new National Day theme song each year and one of my favourites is ‘My Island Home’ as it echos my sentiments.

MY ISLAND HOME
– Sung by Kaira Gong

( Watch on http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PJojvAyXmew)

This is my home
She’s everything to me
Grace and beauty
In all that you see

My island home
Wherever I may be
I never will forget her
Nor will she forget me

And I will sing
A song of home
A land of peace
Where dreams are born every day
My home
Wherever I may be
I believe
You will always be a part of me

My island home
Home of my family
This is my future
Where I want to be
(This is my future
This is my home)

(Chorus)
And I will sing
A song of home
A land of peace
Where dreams are born every day
My home
Wherever I may be
I believe
You will always be a part of me

(Repeat Chorus)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This year’s National Day Parade was held at The Float @ Marina Bay. It was rather impossible to get tickets to watch it live but thankfully we could catch the live telecast on TV.  We had a simple dinner, snacking on assorted cheeses with dried nuts and raisins, and dining on home-made pizzas with cream of broccoli soup so that we could eat and join in the celebrations, all in the comfort of our living room right in front of our  TV screen. It definitely couldn’t beat the exhilarating atmosphere at the actual location but we consoled ourselves that at least we didn’t have to jostle with the 30,000 spectators for a good place to sit and not having to be caught in a human jam after the show was over….haha… sour grapes indeed !

We were fortunate to see the helicopters flying across with our country flag from our balcony  just before it reached the location of the National Day Parade !

We were fortunate to see the helicopters with our country flag flying across our balcony just before it reached the location of the National Day Parade !

The spectacular display of fireworks at The Float @ Marina Bay

The celebrations at The Float @ Marina Bay (picture taken from our tv screen)

This is what while watching the parade in the comfort of our living room (:

enjoying home-cooked food while watching the parade in the comfort of our living room (:

CREAM OF BROCCOLI SOUP
(this is cooked very much the same way as Cream of Cauliflower Soup so do refer to the step-by-step pictorial featured on that post)

Ingredients

1 head broccoli (about 600gms)- remove leaves, retain core and cut coarsely
4 stalks celery, cut coarsely
1 medium size carrot, cubed
1 medium size sweet potato, cubed
1 large onion, chopped
3 pcs garlic, minced
2 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 cup grated cheddar cheese
700ml vegetable stock (or chicken stock)
300ml fresh low-fat milk
1/2 teaspoon black pepper (go easy with this if you’re giving to kids)
salt to taste
truffle oil for drizzling (optional)

Method :

1)  Heat the olive oil in a large saucepan and pan-fry the onion and garlic until softened.

2) Add stock, broccoli, celery, carrot and sweet potato. Bring to boil. After that, cover the pot,  reduce heat and leave to simmer until vegetables are tender (about 20 mins).

3) Remove from heat and transfer the softened vegetables and soup into a blender. Puree and return it to the pot.

4) Bring to boil. Add cheddar cheese. Season with salt and pepper and stir well.

5) Garnish with chopped coriander and a drizzle of truffle oil if preferred. Serve warm.

Cream of Broccoli Soup,  thick and flavourful. Yummy with pizzas and breads !

Cream of Broccoli Soup, thick and flavourful. Yummy with pizzas and breads !

